And the winner is….

Over 250 very excited students, librarians, parents and teachers gathered at the Centre for Life on Thursday to hear Frost Hollow Hall announced as the winner of this year’s NE Book Award. An extra Highly Commended Award was made to local author, Dan Smith. We were thrilled that Emma and Dan could join us for the award party – and equally delighted that Fletcher and Sam made the journey to Newcastle to meet their enthusiastic fans and sign books.

Big thanks to our student judges for some awesome author introductions and to Seven Stories for brilliant bookselling.

Do let us know what you thought of the evening by posting your comments. Or why not email some of your photos of the night? The best could win a prize!

As well as giving you lots of information about the books on the shortlist, the authors who wrote them and ideas about what to read next our NEBA website also gives you the chance to have your say about what you’re enjoying reading – and maybe even what you’re not! – and to comment on the views of others.

We enjoy getting you feedback about the website, and the award itself, so email us at with your views and suggestions, we’d love to hear from you.

Checkout our Pinterest board for loads more information about this year’s shortlist.

Get reading – and writing! This website can only be as good as you make it.