Black Book of Secrets – F E Higgins

When Ludlow Fitch’s parents cruelly betray him, he steals away on the back of a carriage and leaves behind the stinking City. He arrives in the dead of night at a remote village, where he crosses paths with the tall and limping figure of Joe Zabbidou – a pawnbroker with a difference. For Joe trades secrets, not goods, for cash. Ludlow is employed to record the villagers’ fiendish confessions in “The Black Book of Secrets” – bodysnatching; thievery; and murder. The people of Pagus Parvus have much to hide. But is Ludlow Fitch ready to release his own skeletons? And will he ever learn to trust his mysterious master?

10 thoughts on “Black Book of Secrets – F E Higgins

  1. This book is very un-enjoyable. Although the first page hooks you in immediately, the rest of the book is drab and boring. I had to battle through this book, and I wouldn’t have read it at all if I wasn’t voting for NEBA.

  2. The story, the Black Book of Secrets is by F.E. Higgins. It is about a secret pawnbroker called Joe Zabbidou. A boy named Ludlow Fitch has to escape from the dreadful city as his parents bitterly betray him. He clambers onto the back of a carriage in his hurry to get away and is taken to a small village where the villagers live in enormous debt of the nasty, horrible Jeremiah Ratchet. Joe hires Ludlow as his assistant, but Ludlow has seen no pawnbroker like Joe and every so often at midnight he will listen and record in a black book the terrible secrets of the villagers that pawn their fateful secrets to Joe. Jeremiah gets suspicious of what is going on and sets out to find out what’s what. Just how many lengths will Ratchet go to and what will Joe do to keep his sacred black book.
    It is a great book and leaves you wanting to read on. It seems to have a bit of everything in it and all of these things make it the book that it is. It has unanswered questions to make the reader go on and it has the right characters, the good and the bad. I would recommend anyone to read this book and enjoy it as much as I did.

  3. This book was extremely fun to read and I do love fun, unpredictable books! It is definitely my current 2nd favourite out of all the books I have read so far (Urgum the Axe Man, H.I.V.E, Skulduggery Pleasant, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Black Book of Secrets) my first being Skulduggery Pleasant! I think the thing about The Black Book of Secrets that I love is that every page is as exciting and mysterious as the next! It took me only 4 days to read, not because it was short because it wasn’t but because I enjoyed it soooo much and took every chance I had to read it! That is a very important criteria of a successful book and author! My favourite part in the story is when Ludlow is running away from his mother, father and Barton Gumbroot because it is a very exhilarating part of the book and it had me biting my fingernails hoping that Ludlow escaped!

  4. I thought the Black Book of Secrets was an unusual book because I had never seen a book like it before. The whole concept about buying peoples secrets was a really clever idea. I found it really interesting reading people’s confessions. I thought that all the characters were well thought out and every single one was unique. Only one thing was the same in all of them: they all had a dark secret to confess.
    I found it really ingenious and original how some chapters were told by Ludlow in 1st person as a sort of diary and another chapter was told in 3rd person. This showed me people’s different views on the subject.
    It was really interesting seeing all the loose ends come together in the end, although not all of them did and that makes me want to read the sequel.
    The only fault I have with this book is that it was set in the same place all the way through for most of the book and nothing really happened in the middle.
    I thought this book was cleverly put together and had good messages in it. I recommend it to everyone who likes finding out people’s darkest secrets.

  5. I think that ‘The Black Book of Secrets’ was a very good book. If I were to rate it out of 10 I would give it 9, and I will explain why here.

    The book was a very exciting book, and also very mysterious at the same time. I loved reading the confessions, and then there are more mysteries. I think that the book has some parts in it which really keep the reader interested, and this makes you not want to put the book down!

    At the beginning you don’t really know what is happening. Then without the book telling you, you begin to discover what Ludlow Fitch is doing, and then in a later chapter, he’s tells you what happened to him. I especially enjoyed when Ludlow revealed his confession, and nobody would have ever guessed that this would have happened. Ludlow just tells us his story, near the beginning of the book without his confession included.

    I would recommend it to anyone – but especially to those who like a good mystery story and an adventure story at the same time. It’s a good book, worth reading, and I enjoyed it, even though it isn’t a book that I would normally read.

  6. The Black Book of Secrets was a very good book as every chapter had a new twist. When you find out the answer it leads onto a new question. So overall this book was very enjoyable.

  7. I think The Black Book of Secrets is a really good book and I enjoyed it from the beginning till the end. It had lots of cliff-hangers and exciting parts where you just wanted to keep on reading. This book was a definite cant-put-the-book-down kind of book. This book has a good story line and keeps you hooked the whole time. I liked the way the writer put parts when it was Ludlow Fitch telling the story and also when it was a storyteller because it showed different ways of writing a story and you could show peoples feelings differently. I also enjoyed reading the confessions of all the people who came at midnight. I think this book was really good and I am going to read the next book in the series.

  8. The Black Book of Secrets was very interesting but went on for to long with some unnecessary parts. I enjoyed reading the secrets and some of them seemed real.
    This was a good book and I would recommend it for readers aged 11 and above. At the beginning of the story you don’t have any idea of what the book is about, but after a chapter or two you get into the story and you start to enjoy it more. This is a very good book.

  9. “Come to my shop tonight…
    …if you wish to relieve yourself of a secret.”

    My name is Sophie Daniels and I have a secret which I want every one to know about!

    I have read a book which I thought was really amazing and I want everyone to start reading it!! I really liked this book because it was completely unpredictable and it always had a twist hidden when you thought it couldn’t get any better! The characters were really good and I really liked the names of the villagers to go with their job! I liked the Latin phrases because they gave the book some variety. I liked how no one (including me) could work out how Ratchet had died. I was glad this book ended happily because I hate to see the baddies get away with things! I thought this book was the best book in the North East Book Award; I loved it!!!!
    5/5 and well deserved!!

  10. It captures your mind and makes you run wild,
    It’s exciting and fun and makes you breathless,
    It shares all the secrets of dear Pagus Parvus,
    It makes you feel like you had a very tame childhood,

    Once you pick it up, everyone agrees,
    That this is one of the best books that you’ll ever read!

    If you chose a selection of books that you just had to read before you die, then this is one of them!
    The Black Book of Secrets is so good that it’s hard to write down in words. You have to pick it up for yourself to feel the wonderful sensation you get from reading it. Trust me on this, you just want to keep on reading it!

    9.9/10

Comments are closed.