The Boy in Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne

The story of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is very difficult to describe. Usually we give some clues about the book on the cover, but in this case we think that would spoil the reading of the book. We think it is important that you start to read without knowing what it is about.

If you do start to read this book, you will go on a journey with a nine-year-old boy called Bruno. (Though this isn’t a book for nine-year-olds.) And sooner or later you will arrive with Bruno at a fence. Fences like this exist all over the world. We hope you never have to cross such a fence.

17 thoughts on “The Boy in Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne

  1. The boy in the striped pyjamas is about a nine year old boy called Bruno. One day he comes home to find Mariah the maid packing up his things. He has to move to a deserted place called Out-with with his mother, sister, and his father is who is a German commandant. Through his window he can see what looks like a camp. All the people there are wearing striped pyjamas and Bruno wonders why they are living in such a place. Who are the people beyond his window and why are they there?
    It is a thrilling book to read and leaves you asking loads of questions at the end of each chapter. The book is very hard to put down and it tells you a lot about people who lived in the Concentration camps and what their feelings were. It also tells you what is going on in Bruno’s mind. His thoughts and feelings. He is confused by what is going on and wonders exactly what his father’s job is. The author, John Boyne, has put a lot of effort and thought into the book and it has come out in success.

  2. I thought “The boy in striped Pyjamas” was a very good book. I really enjoyed it as it was from a young boys mind & it shows how naive they can be. It is a very sad story and I was sad to finish it. I enjoyed it very much.

  3. I think this book is suitable for all ages. It hooks the reader in from the very first page, and very well written. It’s interesting to see the war from a German child’s point of view. And when you come to the end, it still leaves you guessing.

  4. Amazing
    I liked it
    It really made me think
    I thoroughly enjoyed the plot
    Fab
    Touching
    Funny and ignorant main character but a great person with a good heart
    Good front cover
    Moving
    Unexpected ending
    Makes you really think about life
    It hooked me in – wanted to read on
    It made me think what it would be like to be in his position
    Hard to get into
    Gripping
    Realistic
    Unpredictable
    Eye-catching for wrong reasons
    Language varied
    Really sad
    Emotional
    Thoughtful
    Very sad at the end
    Thought-provoking

  5. I really enjoyed reading The Boy in Striped Pyjamas because it has sad bits and happy bits in it. My friend recommended it to me before the book award so I had already read it. This is a really good and it bits of history written in it too. This book is quite sad. This is a book I enjoyed from start to finish and I think John Boyne keeps the reader entertained throughout the whole book. The only thing I didn’t really like about the book was that it didn’t actually say right out what was happening but it kept hinting, so it would have been better to actually tell the readers what was actually going on.

  6. SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT is really good book and I really enjoyed it. It has funny parts and sad parts and I think it is really gripping. The characters are described in a very imaginative way and I liked reading about Stephanie’s reactions to the people she met. Skulduggery sounds like a person you would never get bored with because of all the adventures he goes on. This book has parts when you think OH NO THEY’RE GOING TO GET CAUGHT and that makes the story more thrilling. This book has lots of cliffhangers and it is a book that you can’t put down and that you have to keep on reading. This is a great story and the humour and action is well written. This book is one of the best I’ve read. I would give this story 4 and a half stars out of 5. I also liked the front cover and the orange pages because it made it stand out. If I saw this book lying on a library shelf I would pick it up because it looks interesting. I am definitely going to read the next book in the Skulduggery series.

  7. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas was a very enjoyable book to read! Even though I think it isn’t the best book I have read so far out of the selected books I know that it was a book definitely worth reading! I love the mystery and suspense in the book, which builds up until the last few pages in the book! I found in this book that it was extremely unpredictable which I realised was a very skilful way of writing a book! I also realised that it must have taken a lot of thought and consideration to be able to write this book! I truly admire Mr. Boyne for writing such a wonderful novel!

  8. ‘The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas’ was a very sad book and a very unpredictable one too. I would give it 9 out of 10 and I will explain why here.

    It was a very good book and it always leaves you thinking about what is going to happen next. When you find out roughly what the book is about, you presume it is going to be a happy book. That’s one thing I liked about it – it’s unpredictable (as I said before) and it’s exciting.

    The book is also very descriptive. You can always visualise what everything looks like, with a clear picture in your head of Bruno’s surroundings. Description makes the book exciting and you can’t put the book down!

    ‘The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas’ was also very cleverly written. As you read it, you begin to discover how all of the characters relate to each other, and why everything happened. That’s another reason why I enjoyed the book: in a way, it’s…… mysterious.

    When you get near to the end of the book, you know that something is going to go wrong, and in the last chapter, the two friends get killed. Even worse, they don’t know what is happening and that makes it even sadder.

    I recommend it to everyone – this is not a book for only one type of reader – it’s for everybody, young and old and I think that everyone would enjoy it, even if they didn’t know that it is one of the saddest books, at least that I, have ever read.

  9. I thought this book was fantastic! When you look at the front cover you do not have a clue what it is about. I think it is a book for experienced readers as you have to work a lot out yourself.

  10. I thought this book was GREAT!!! It was so fascinating to read about things what really happen in the world but its not true if you no what i mean lol!!!!! If i had to give this book a rating out of ten it would be about 8!!!!

  11. I really enjoyed this book as it contained some elements of truth yet some elements of fiction. It was written from the 9 year old’s point of view which I found interesting because you viewed the holocaust from the side that is usually dismissed as the evil side but Bruno didn’t understand the horrors over the other side ofthe fence in Auschwitz and thought it was all innocent. This novel had a sinister ending and I found it quite frustrating because we knew what was coming but Bruno didn’t and just walked straight into danger. A very gripping read that I’d definilely reccomend!

  12. This was a very good book with a interesting plot. The book was very good at letting you imagine where the scene was set out because of its descriptive language.
    You always understand what is happening and it has a very clear plot. This book would be better if it had a second book, because it leaves you at a little bit of a dead end or a cliffhanger. Overall it was a very good book.

  13. The boy in striped pyjamas is set in the time of the holocaust and is about a boy called Bruno who is nine years old. He has to move house and go to “Out-with” because his father has got a new job.
    There seems to be no-more children at “Out-with” apart from Bruno and his sister, “The hopeless case”, until they look out of the window………..
    The view from the back window is completely different from that of the front window. There is a fence and behind it are lots of people who are thin and have bald heads. But that is the only thing they have in common, they all have striped pyjamas….
    Bruno makes a new friend from the forbidden fence and they become friends for life, literally life….

  14. The best thing about this book is that it is a very different type of story to the ones that I am used to reading. I found it dramatic and shady, but perhaps the story was told very slow? There wasn’t much happening in some parts, and whether this is because it was so boring at ‘Outwith’ or not I don’t know.

    If I had to sum this up in one sentence, the sentence would be:

    ‘Dramatic and sad, and with a very moving ending.’

    I didn’t like the way that Bruno though about his sister, and it began to get on my nerves quite a bit, especially since I am a girl myself, but I think that is just the way that men thought about women at the time.

    7/10.

    By Jessica Cripps

Comments are closed.