Skulduggery Pleasant – Derek Landy

Stephanie’s uncle Gordon is a writer of horror fiction. But when he dies and leaves her his estate, Stephanie learns that while he may have written horror, it certainly wasn’t fiction. Pursued by evil forces intent on recovering a mysterious key, Stephanie finds help from an unusual source — the wisecracking skeleton of a dead wizard. When all hell breaks loose, it’s lucky for Skulduggery that he’s already dead. Though he’s about to discover that being a skeleton doesn’t stop you from being tortured, if the torturer is determined enough. And if there’s anything Skulduggery hates, it’s torture! Will evil win the day? Will Stephanie and Skulduggery stop bickering long enough to stop it? One thing’s for sure: evil won’t know what’s hit it.

15 thoughts on “Skulduggery Pleasant – Derek Landy

  1. Skulduggery Pleasant is a superb book. It is very exciting and full of action and magical wonders. There are the good guys and there are the bad. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good book. The story is about a 12 year old girl called Stephanie Edgley. Her uncle had just died from natural causes and left nearly everything he owned to her. When she is left alone in her dead uncle’s house for the night an evil man called Nefarian Serpine tries to break in and steal a key. But then along comes Skulduggery Pleasant, he’s cool, he’s magic and… he’s a living skeleton. Stephanie and Skulduggery become partners and soon Stephanie is caught up in the magical world.
    I thought this book was incredible. It was a bit scary at times but it was also exciting, curious, and very funny. I am definitely reading the next book in the series. The author, Derek Landy, has a very powerful imagination and knows just how to use it. The book is very hard to put down and you just want to sit down and read it all, beginning to end.

  2. Magical
    Comical
    Scary
    Unpredictable
    Brill in every aspect
    Couldn’t put it down, very amusing
    Amazing
    Good
    Interesting
    Funny
    Intriguing
    Gripping
    Appealing
    Hooked me in
    Easy to get into
    Really good
    Eye-catching – orange!
    Unbelievably amazing
    Well-paced
    Wow!
    Believable
    Magical
    Fantastical
    Dreamy
    Good beginning
    Good characters
    Good plot

  3. Skulduggery Pleasant is about a naïve, 12 year old girl named Stephanie Edgley. After the death of her uncle, Mr. Gordon Edgley, an acclaimed mystery writer, Stephanie meets a strange and rather unconventional ‘man’ called Skulduggery Pleasant. After they make acquaintances- Stephanie’s life is turned around. A whole new world is revealed to her through one misfortunate experience. What is the mysterious Sceptre that everyone seems to be talking about? Why is it so important and how can it be dangerous to the whole world?

    I think that Skulduggery Pleasant is a really good read as it is funny and leaves you in suspense at the end of each chapter. It had me hooked on reading it as it was so exciting. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good scary mystery with a lot laughs along the way. The dry humour of the main characters and their constant bickering leaves you in fits of laughter!

    Overall comment: This book is right to have been short listed for these book awards!

  4. Skulduggery Pleasant all begins with a girl named Stephanie. When her uncle dies he leaves her his house and his possessions. But when her uncle’s will is getting read she meets a very mysterious person, not even a person but a skeleton (as she soon finds out) called Skulduggery Pleasant, a friend of her uncle. Stephanie and Skulduggery both find themselves in a dangerous adventure to find the sceptre of the ancients before the enemy does. Along with their friends, Tanith Low and Ghastly Bespoke they set out to find it.

    I found this a very gripping and a funny story and the characters were very realistic. Altogether a very good read!

  5. Skulduggery Pleasant is a suitable book for 9 year olds to 14 year olds. The story is about magic, and a talking skeleton, without it being tacky or over the top. It hooks the reader in from the first chapter, and I am eagerly anticipating the sequel, due out in April.

  6. I really enjoyed this book because of the variety it covers. From its fast paced, action-packed storyline that got my heart racing, to the little bits of humour that had me rolling around the floor in hysterics. Everything was tied together brilliantly and with care.
    The fight scenes had spectacular detail and I could imagine them so clearly it felt like I was actually there! The characters were all described wonderfully and everyone had a quality that was different and made them unique. I also liked the morals in this book and I am sure they will all come in useful in my life at some point.
    The only thing I thought could be improved was the amount of characters in the book. There were lots of them and I found it hard remembering who they were and all the details about them. As a result of this I spent quite a long time not reading the book but looking back in it to see who the characters were!
    This book had me gripped from start to finish and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to read a book with a ride range of subjects included in it. This book is like nothing I have ever read before
    A MAGICAL BOOK!

  7. I think that ‘Skulduggery Pleasant’ was quite a good book. I would give 8 out of 10 and I will explain why here.

    ‘Skulduggery Pleasant’ was a very exciting, action-packed book and I especially liked how you never knew what was going to happen next. I also liked it because it was mysterious – at the end lots of mysteries unfolded and several things became clear.

    However, I don’t think the book had enough description and I could hardly ever imagine what a place really looked like as I read the book. I also found the book annoying because I could never keep track of who was talking, in long and short conversations, and I always had to go back to the previous page and read it again. Other than that the book was brilliant, and I quite enjoyed reading it.

    Although I wouldn’t normally pick up a book like ‘Skulduggery Pleasant,’ I recommend it to everyone who likes really exciting books, and books that have action and life-risking events in every chapter. Readers like this will probably like this book more than me!

  8. SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT is really good book and I really enjoyed it. It has funny parts and sad parts and I think it is really gripping. The characters are described in a very imaginative way and I liked reading about Stephanie’s reactions to the people she met. Skulduggery sounds like a person you would never get bored with because of all the adventures he goes on. This book has parts when you think OH NO THEY’RE GOING TO GET CAUGHT and that makes the story more thrilling. This book has lots of cliffhangers and it is a book that you can’t put down and that you have to keep on reading. This is a great story and the humour and action is well written. This book is one of the best I’ve read. I would give this story 4 and a half stars out of 5. I also liked the front cover and the orange pages because it made it stand out. If I saw this book lying on a library shelf I would pick it up because it looks interesting. I am definitely going to read the next book in the Skulduggery series.

  9. it was
    amazing brilliant and all them it was so i good i end up reading it again

  10. It was FAB!!!
    I really liked this book it had humour and action.
    This book should win!!!

  11. I think this book is quite amazing

    I hope it wins i would give it 10/10

    i cant wait for the party to see if it does win
    !!

  12. Why should I read it?
    You should read this book because it is the best adventure story you’ll ever enjoy. It’s full of baddies, magic, deaths, friendship and, of course, skulduggery pleasant! Here is a little poem to encourage you…

    skulduggery and Stephanie, who you’ll get to know,
    knowing what’s going to happen next – not!
    urgh! – squeamish tales to make you squirm,
    laughter! You’ll be laughing all the way through,
    death – you’ll stare it in the face,
    urgh – yes, another one,
    great! – The word you’ll use to describe this book afterwards,
    grabbing it in the smallest moments – because you can’t put it down,
    Edgely – Stephanie’s surname,
    rocks! Yes, it does!
    yes! this is the best book you’ll ever read!

    10/10

  13. Skullduggery Pleasant is one of the best books I have ever read. It is exciting and scary and you don’t know which way it is going to turn next. I especially liked the bit where Skullduggery and Stephanie were hiding from the vampires.
    I think that the Author had really thought about the story-line carefully and I think the Book of names and it’s protection was very imaginative. And better than all of that no matter how unrealistic the plot was ____________ made it seem believable.
    I really like ____________’s type of writing and I think he has really wrote for his audience well. I would recommend this book to all of my friends, male and female, and I would say “You’ll be glad I did after you’ve read it!”

Comments are closed.