Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror

Uncle Montague's Tales of TerrorUncle Montague lives alone in a big house and his regular visits from his nephew give him the opportunity to relive some of the most frightening stories he knows. But as the stories unfold, a newer and more surprising story emerges, one that is perhaps the most frightening of all. “Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror”, it transpires, are not so much works of imagination as dreadful lurking memories. Memories of an earlier time in which Uncle Montague lived a very different life to his present solitary existence…

31 thoughts on “Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror

  1. hi,
    I thought your book had a very good story line and it was a quite a scary book but it was very eye catching and it had a lot of tension to it.

  2. I think this book is totally wicked and unpredictable. My favourite
    chapter is ‘Jinn’ because the demon girl is a shock.

  3. That book so totally rocked out loud, I couldn’t stop reading it and I thought the monster from ‘Climb Not’ was going to tear round the stairs and get me in in my bed

  4. I really enjoyed this book because it was gripping and intriguing and interesting. I love this book because the stories were frightening and a little bit funny. My favourite stories were The Un-Door, Winter Pruning and Ghost Story. I was glued to the page and I couldn’t stop reading it even though reading at night was a bit silly because I got a little bit scared.

  5. I found this book interesting but not terrifying. I think this book is not scary because its a younger child’s book but I found it interesting, it had a good story line and an interesting ending.

  6. I found the book OKAY, nothing special and unfortunately I dont agree with the title, those stories were not scary at all, I thought this would be the best book, clearly not, my points are going to ways to live forever.

  7. Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror is a great book that is rather scary! The only thing I found that was wrong was that the end was a little bit scrambled. It was really good and I enjoyed reading it.
    Eleanor M.

    I think Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror by Chris Priestley is a wonderfully spooky book. It is about a boy called Edgar who loves to go to his Uncle Montague for stories. I really liked this book and I’d recommend it to anyone.
    Lily

    I thought Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror was very good, but sinister. The first story was my favourite because I was scared out of my wits. The illustrations were exquisite and gave it that special touch. LOVED THIS BOOK!
    Josephine

  8. I Thought this Book was quite scary.Eventhough i read it at night it scared me Alot. But I Thought it would have been ok if i read it in the day time not night

  9. When I read this book it made me feel like something was going to jump out at me in my bedroom. This made it seem realistic and exciting, as you didn’t know what was going to happen next. It is a real page-turner and when I finished it, I wanted there to be more, as it was so good.

  10. Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror was chill binding,it frightend me.It seemed that my nightmares were coming true,instead of the people involved in the story they turned into me… I found a sentence (Quote) that makes me shake,’ That night he watched from his bedroom window as the crown of the elm tree shook like the mane of a giant lion, black against the indigo night,roaring in the wind.’ I think that little children under the age of 9 should NOT read this book because im 11 and usually a scary book wouldnt bother me but this one really did.
    Hannah Naylor

  11. Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror was amazing I really like the chapter Un Door because it made me very scared when I was reading it a night!!!!!! I am only 12 years old and I am scared so I think people younger than me shouldn’t read this chapter hahahah

  12. This book very scary .I thought The Gilt Frame was my favourite story. At the end I was surprised that he was a greedy man but I am pleased to hear he is taking care of the mysterious children. Think it’s not a curse but a gift. The book was perfect.

  13. This book chilled me to the bone. I was in my bedroom ( AT NIGHT !!), as I was reading ” Climb Not” I suddenly felt like not wanting to sleep in my room ever again. The stories were wonderfully grotesque and mind-boggling. This book is a ‘ MUST READ ‘. I have to say that the author made good use of words and phrase that would keep you reading till the very end.

  14. Hi, I really liked this book! This book is very scary, I really like scary books. I liked the chapter The Gilt Frame because I thought that it was very nice that the girl- Christina – understood her mistake. I liked the relationship between the two sisters and the mum. I liked the other chapters as well! I thought that the uncle was a bit suspicious. I liked the boy- Edgar. I got scared on most of the chapters and I was reading it at night as well.

  15. It was a big mistake to read this at night, I was getting goose bumps on the chapter Winter Pruning. I was terrified! I feel like I am in the stories and they are coming true. Although it was a brilliant story!

  16. This book was so amazing …….. I couldn’t stop reading it. I couldn’t really pick a favourite chapter because they were all so good but I was really terrified by “The Path”; it was so unpredictable. It was really good and it has to be my favourite !!!!

  17. I thought that this book was quite different than other books I have read lately. For example it had a lot of twists and turns along the way throughout the book. My favourite story was The Demon Bench End. I liked the book.

  18. In my opinion book this book was not as good as I thought it would be. I like 1 long story better than lots of short ones.

  19. I thought this book wasn’t as good as I thought because I don’t really like short storie. If the book had been one big book and not separated into shorter books I might have enjoyed it a bit more.

  20. Uncle Montague’s Tales Of Terror is one of the most frightening books I have ever read, and if it were not for the combined efforts of Andy Stanton, Terry Pratchett, Emily Diamond, L.M. Montgomery and Sally Nicholls, I would never have recovered. It is very well written, and however much it scared me, and no one will ever be bored at any sleepovers I am invited to again. I think, perhaps, that the most terrifying of the stories was the next-to-last one. The description is excellent, but rather too much, if you get my meaning… It is a very frightening book, but Chris Priestley is a rather good author.

  21. When I first saw the books that were available for the NEBA, I wasn’t sure if I would like them-I normally go for humorous books. I picked Uncle Montague’s Tales Of Terrors, not knowing if I was choosing a good book for me. I loved it! I’m so glad I picked a book like this. The thrill and tension that comes up in the book is amazing! Now, when I go to the book shop, I am definitely going to look for books like this. My favourite tale from the book is “Offerings” Chris Priestly is now one of my favourite authors!

  22. When I first picked up the book I did not think I would like it but when I read the back it was very good !!!! I like the way the stories all have something to do with the items in the house. All the stories are very good and whoever does not like this book must be MAD!!!

  23. This book is about a boy whose Uncle tells him lots of stories as they sit by the fire. One night his Uncle tells him some very scary stories, but the boy doesn’t seem to be very scared of the stories which he says are unreal. He is, however, scared about getting home. I was actually really scared by these tales about demons and the dead and many more things. It kept me wanting to read and find out what would happen next.
    Salma

    A very creepy book full of spine-chilling tales. I advise you not to read it last thing at night!
    A very good book – well, shall I say a very creepy book!

    Eleanor

  24. I enjoyed reading the different stories in this book, however the end was unexpected and a little disturbing really.

  25. This book was truly terrifying! My favourite chapter was ” CLIMB NOT “. I was reading in my room at night and it was truly spine-tingling! This book is a MUST READ! Its grotesque features and mind-boggling stories. It definitely made me and my friends PETRIFIED! We had never read something as scary as this book! The author is absolutely AMAZING!

  26. I really enjoyed this book a lot. It was really interesting how the author joined this book together. I love the stories his uncle told, they felt so realistic! The Gilt Frame to me was one of the scariest! I would recommend this for all children but don’t read this before you go to bed if you don’t want nightmares !!

  27. CAUTION- AFTER READING YOU WILL NEVER SLEEP AGAIN – NOT FOR THE FAINT HEARTED!!

    This book will scare you out of your mind but amazingly make you want to read on! Who knew a book could do such a thing?

    I would recommend this book to people who are brave.

    I liked the story about the boy who climbed the tree, how fantastically scary it was. So think again when you go to climb a tree you’re not meant to! You have to read on to find out more shiveringly scary stories that will blow your socks off 🙂

Comments are closed.