Way of the Warrior

Way of the WarriorAugust 1611. Jack Fletcher is shipwrecked off the coast of Japan – his beloved father and the crew lie slaughtered by ninja pirates. Rescued by the legendary sword master Masamoto Takeshi, Jack’s only hope is to become a samurai warrior. And so his training begins. But life at the samurai school is a constant fight for survival. Even with his friend Akiko by his side, Jack is singled out by bullies and treated as an outcast. With courage in his heart and his sword held high, can Jack prove himself and face his deadliest rival yet?

16 thoughts on “Way of the Warrior

  1. Young Samurai – The Way of the Warrior is very good and not what I thought. It is not a boys’ book! It is not hard to understand either. You will love this book if you enjoy action and adventure, but it can be a little sad. It is about a young English boy called Jack, who is rescued from a shipwreck, and needs to keep his father’s rutter (book of sea routes) safe.
    It is a great book and don’t judge it by its cover!
    I would recommend this book to everyone!
    Eleanor F.

    I like this book because my Mum lived in Japan and it’s got a lot of stuff in the book about Samurai.
    Jack Fletcher is 12 and got shipwrecked in Japan. Luckily he is looked after by Masamoto, a Samurai sword master, and Akiko, who is training to be a female Samurai warrior. I think this book is the best book I’ve read so far.
    Lili

    Young Samurai is a creative and very original book. Even though this book wasn’t quite my taste I can see why people would enjoy it.
    A very unique and adventurous book.
    Emma

    I personally didn’t think too much about this book, because I thought some of the fight scenes were too long, but had very good detail.
    I certainly know more about martial arts. A good book.
    Josephine

    I really liked this book: I thought I would not like it at first but then I did!
    I really loved the plot as well. I recommend this a lot, and don’t judge it by its cover!
    Eleanor M.

  2. This book is totally wicked. I was so into it I was up half the night
    reading it. My favourite part was the school contest when Jack does a butterfly kick.

  3. This book is very cool and amusing. It is very gripping, it keeps you reading till the very end

  4. This book was good, but sometimes I got confused because I had to turn to the back pages ( glossary ) to find out what the words meant. I couldn’t pronounce the words properly either so I kept jumping them, but then I didn’t know anything about it! I know that is partly my fault for not reading the words properly, but I didn’t know how to say them or what they meant!
    I didn’t know what the book was going to be like when I first saw it, and all the boys said it was going to be good, but I personally didn’t know. It was better than what I thought, but if I could read any of the books I’ve read so far again, it wouldn’t be this one.

  5. It had quite a good storyline and the beginning really had me hooked……..
    I enjoyed reading it and thought the bit when the man fell off the mast of the boat on fire and how Jack could smell his burning flesh was proper disgusting !!!

  6. I loved this book for many resons. The vocabulary, the plot and the description. However the detail that the author used was outstanding.
    Massamoto Takeshi and Jack Fletcher are genius.

  7. The story plot was great and my favourite character was Akiko because she’s brill at fighting and is very kind to Jack.

  8. I loved this book. The whole story was just amazing and I hope another one comes out. I want to read more about Akiko!!!!! She is an awesome samurai.

  9. When I first picked up the book, I thought it looked like a boys-type genre. When I started reading I found that it was full of action and drama.
    I really, really, enjoyed this book, even if other people did not. This book was my favourite.

  10. This book was so thrilling! Just like what the cover said ” floors the reader on page 1 and keeps them there until the end “. Well that was so true! It was non-stop reading till it was time to eat, then back to reading! There were quite a few JAPANESE words but I understood most of them at least, I’m learning how to speak japanese but I’m still quite bad.

    Sayanora, Mata ne…I think?

  11. This book was that good I wanted to read it again. It could have had even more action fighting

  12. HI everyone! Thanks for all your lovely comments.

    For all those who found the Japanese words a little tricky, there’s a glossary in the back – but don’t worry too much – Jack doesn’t understand Japanese too well either and you are reading the book from his perspective. Secondly, I can tell you that Book 2 has far less Japanese in it, because Jack now understands the country he’s living in more. Not that his life is any easier as a trainee samurai warrior!

    I am pleased to say Book 2: The Way of The Sword is out on 2 July. I can promise you more action, more cool martial arts scenes and you’d better watch out for Akiko – she gets very mysterious in this book…

    Check out an exclusive extract at http://www.youngsamurai.com.

    Thanks for reading!

    Chris (author of Young Samurai)

    P.s. We have just signed a TV and film deal for Young Samurai which is very exciting!

  13. THIS BOOK WAS TOTALLY AMAZING. I thought that it was so totally cool and groovy. I can’t wait for the second book to come out!

Comments are closed.