Changeling

Steve Feasey

Trey thought he was an ordinary teenager. Then he meets a mysterious stranger, Lucien Charron – luminously pale, oddly powerful, with eyes that seem flecked with fire and skin that blisters in sunlight. Somehow Trey finds himself in a luxury London penthouse, like a Bond villain’s lair. It’s the heart of a sinister empire, built on the powers of the netherworld – werewolves, vampires, sorcerers, djinns. And Trey himself has a power that’s roaring to break free. Is he a boy or is he a beast?

17 thoughts on “Changeling

  1. Changeling is an amazing book about a boy named Trey Lamporte, who thinks himself as a normal boy until he meets Lucien Charron and is told what he really is. With half the nether creatures of the world trying to kill him, Trey soon realises that his life will never be normal again.
    I really enjoyed this book because it is interesting, has a bit of fantasy, has good description and is a little scary in some parts. I would recommend this book to anyone 11 plus and would give it a 9/10.
    By Abby

    Changeling is about a boy named Trey Lamporte; he lives in a care home with many other children all up until one day…Lucian Charron, a stranger to Trey and the care home, claims he is Trey’s uncle. Trey and Lucian run away together and soon Trey finds out a secret about himself and Lucian.
    I personally think Changeling is a great book and I would recommend it to 12 years old and over or anybody who’s up for an adventurous yet mysterious book. I think that Changeling is better than I thought it would be and it is now on my chart of favourite books.
    The only thing I didn’t like about it was that it may have sometimes over exaggerated, when describing characters or backgrounds.
    By Maham

    I loved Changeling. It was a gripping tale and very different from what I would normally read. I like how it just gets straight to the story rather than waffling on about his life in the care home. Also how it doesn’t waffle on at the end either. It is good how you don’t know much about his past and neither does he and you uncover it bit by bit during the story.
    My favourite character is probably Alexa because she is all alone until Trey comes along, she tries to befriend him but all he wants to know is what’s going on. I kind of feel sorry for Tom as he is all mixed up in the netherworld even though he is not a nether creature.
    I am very excited to read the next book in the series as this one was great. Out of 10 I will give it 8 as I enjoyed it but it was not my usual type of book.
    By Lucy

  2. The title of my book is Changeling – Discover the Beast Within, and the author of this book is Steve Feasey. The main characters in this book are: Trey, who is an extraordinary teenager; Lucien Charron, who is a mysterious stranger; Thomas, the Irish right-hand man; Alexa, Lucien’s daughter; and Caliban, Lucien’s brother.
    In this book Trey thinks he is an ordinary teenager until the day he meets Lucien Charron – a stranger who somehow wants to help Trey. Trey’s life takes a turn as all the secrets unravel. Trey soon lives in a luxury penthouse built by the powers of Netherworld – a world full of vampires, demons, sorcerers and djinn. Trey finds out he is the last of his kind and now They are after him. Who are They? What are the secrets hidden within? Will he be normal ever again? The book is amazing and will surprise you at every turn. I like this book because it has a fantastic plot and theme and it is full of emotions. My favourite part of the book is when Trey is eating at the table and he has realised they are everything but normal. I would recommend this book to everyone because it will have at least one part that is new to you.

    Taiba

  3. I loved the Changeling sooo much I think that that’s the one that should win! I think that it was very mysterious but there was always a slight hint that he was a werewolf. I also love books that end on a cliffhanger like this one did so can not wait to read the next book and the next one after that!!!
    CHANGELING TO WIN!!!!!!!!

  4. I don’t think I’ve read a better books since I started reading. It was amazing. I loved it and as soon as I finished reading it I nagged my dad to buy the next two – and guess what? They were both brilliant too. I actually believe in this world when I’m reading. The ideas are mind-blowing and the characters are so cool. I wish I could meet them. Now I’m waiting in anticipation for the next book – Demon Games in September!!!

  5. Absolutely brilliant! The cover makes you think it’s about werewolves but it’s not. I’m already hooked and I’m up all night reading it.

    I like it, it’s quite interesting and I’m quite looking forward to reading it all.

    Now I’ve read it all, I think the story is a bit rushed or it’s moving too fast. You kind of get thrown into the story. I like the plotline and the story, I think it’s really good. The character descriptions were really good but the characters were pretty unpredictable.

    Best book ever =)

    Very gripping and exciting all of the way through. Really good book! The language was very descriptive.

    Really enjoyed this book, it had a really great ending that left you wanting more, it didn’t disappoint at all and it made me really want to know what was going to happen!

    Really delivered! Made me feel like I was there! However the front cover made it predictable. It was difficult to read but enjoyable.

    I read it in one sitting and it made me feel intrigued. The blurb did not mislead, I would definitely read it again. I would also recommend it to a friend.

    Unexpected ending!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was the best out of all of them, unexpected ending!

  6. I thought this book was awesome!!!!! It was really exciting and I liked how at first Trey didn’t have a clue what was happening. I also loved the way the characters were all unpredictable and how some of the things that happened were completely unexpected. 9/10:D

  7. When I looked at the cover of ‘Changeling’ I thought that it would be a scary horror book which put me off it slightly, but as I read it, I found that it wasn’t a horror book and I actually enjoyed it. There was lots of action in the book, which I liked but with it quite a bit of blood and bodies, which I would have preferred if it were described slightly less graphically. Having said that, I don’t think it would give people nightmares, but in parts it was a bit gory.
    I liked the plot, although I thought that there would be more after where it ended, so it seemed to end on a cliff-hanger because Caliban is still alive. But that is probably the subject of the next two books in the series, so it is not a bad thing because I really want to read on to the next book to find out.
    It is a very gripping book, even though you can easily guess at the beginning that Trey is obviously a werewolf but that can’t really be helped. The rest of the story is also quite predictable, that they would rescue Alexa and defeat Caliban, so there could have been a few more dramatic twists in the plot, to be picky.
    I thought that the ending events were particularly dramatic and unexpected (When Lucien makes Caliban bite him and Trey bites Caliban’s arm off), although perhaps a little bit gross. I liked parts like that where the book was very cleverly written.
    I would give this book 8 out of 10 because it was action-packed and interesting, but could have had a few more twists. However, I did still enjoy the book very much.
    By Emma

  8. I didn’t really like the book, it was really hard to get in to but after that it was ok, just not my ideal book !

  9. When looking at Changelings cover some girls, including myself, at first glance might be put of by the dark colours and menacing picture but I think that having read it that it is not just a single sex book. When I looked at the cover I immediately thought that it would be aimed at boys but when I began to read my eyes were glued to the page. The main character Trey was easy to connect with and very believable. I would recommend this book to a reader of any age because this book was interesting, exciting and imaginative.

    • omg Steve Feasey is the best x]
      He is my favourite author 🙂
      I am half way through his book and it is amazing, I have the other two books to get through and I cannot wait to read them. I hope I will get another opportunity to meet him and get another picture.
      I wish him all the best for his upcoming book.
      STEVE FEASEY RULES! WOOOO!! GO STEVE FEASEY 🙂 x] xx

  10. Trey’s parents both dies in a tragic car crash over 10 Years ago but then when his mysterious so-called-uncle turns up and tells him it’s all a lie. He doesn’t know what to believe.

    I thought Changeling was a very well written book. Steve Feasey always kept you turning the page, not just because action was happening but because you just wanted to find out what was going to happen next. I thought the way he built up the tension throughout the book was brilliant because you never lost interest and it kept you gripped throughout the plot until the dramatic climax.

    The cover of Changeling immediately put everyone in our group off because usually I wouldn’t have picked up a book like that and neither would anyone else in our group either. The reason for this is because of the huge about-to-pounce werewolf. I am one of those people that look at a book and judge it by its cover. But after reading Changeling I have decided to start reading the blurb before judging. Overall I thought it was a brilliant book and was brilliantly written too.

  11. This is by far the best book this year. GO STEVE FEASEY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. While being a very good read in all aspects, it seems to lack something for me.
    It isn’t really a ‘page turner’, though some of the action scenes are very good.
    It has good vocabulary, is well written, seems well thought out and has a strong plotline making it a very good book, but it is still missing something, some ‘X-factor’ for me.
    I can’t help but to compare it to the work of Darren Shan in the same genre, and I find that this is just short of that level.

    It is a satisfied 4/5 for me.

  13. I am writing to inform you that Changeling is very intriguing. It has to be one of the most exquisite books I have read. It has the ingredients that make the perfect book, a sense of adventure and horror. As soon as I saw the very interesting cover I knew it would be an exciting read.
    Yes there is a lot of vampire and werewolf books out there and they’re becoming more popular but he has added a twist unlike the other books I have ever read.
    The blurb is very detailed but not too detailed to give the book away like most books do.
    I really enjoyed this book and shall read the others 🙂
    love amy xxx
    p.s Steeeeeevvveeeee feeeaaasssseeeeyyyyy rules! and he kicks butts! xx

  14. Steve Feasey is an inspiring author and he is my favourite person ever alive in the world. I’ve read his books millions of times and I never get bored of his books. I’ve met Steve Feasey and he his a lovely guy and a true hero for book lovers. People who have not read his books just read them because the minute you look at the amazing cover you will be empowered by his magic 🙂 xxxxxxxxxxxx

Comments are closed.