The Boy Who Fell Down Exit 43

Harriet Goodwin

For a millionth of a second the car grazed the drenched moorland. If it had come down on any other patch of ground Finn would simply have been another statistic. Death by dangerous driving. But the car hit the surface of the Earth at Exit 43. It slid through the membrane like a hot knife through butter, plunging into the darkness and catapulting Finn from its shattered windscreen as it fell. Finn Oliver knows he’ll never come to terms with his father’s death, but joy-riding over the moors in his mum’s beat-up old car is a quick fix of freedom and forgetting. Until the accident happens – and Finn finds himself hurtling through the wafer-thin divide between the worlds of the living and the dead.

12 thoughts on “The Boy Who Fell Down Exit 43

  1. This book was very good but at times it got confusing because of the characters changing near the end. I liked it though because it got on with the point and everything was all in one day…in the book. 3/5 for me 🙂

    • The book is the best book out of all of them this year and the book has all the characteristics of a good book. It is as good as or even better than the Harry Potter series or the Series of Unfortunate Events.

      110% ;P

  2. This book was really good. Once I started it I had to read on. That’s what I like in books

  3. ‘The Boy who Fell Down Exit 43’ is a really creative book, as it conjures up an entirely unique world below the surface of the Earth. It is about, funnily enough, a boy called Finn Oliver who falls down an exit (Exit 43 to be precise) and has to fulfil a prophecy to save the whole Underworld. The Underworld is where people go after they’ve died. I love the whole idea of the story because it is really imaginative and I enjoy reading exciting quest/adventure books.
    My favourite points about this book are that it is simply, but powerfully written with a very satisfying ending, even though the story is only over about 3 days. Also, I love the characters of the extravagant Lady Fortescue, the raging Bloodaxe, the troubled Finn and the curious Jessie, which are all well described and complete contrasts of each other. The Underworld is also well described and therefore easy to imagine, and it has really made me think about life after death – if the Underworld was real, then I probably would not mind it!
    If I had to criticize this book, I would say that in the parts where Finn is remembering his Dad (who is dead), it can sometimes get a bit sappy, which isn’t always a bad thing because it puts emotion as well as excitement into the story – but there’s just a bit too much. On the other hand, I like the way that the story is written, especially when the author uses capital letters for anger and italics for mimicking, as well as other punctuation. Also, I love the front cover of the book; I immediately noticed it and wanted to read the book.
    I would highly recommend this book to anyone over 8, as the plot and language are not very complicated, but still very interesting. During the quest, the story skips from what is happening to one character, to another, and back and forth again, usually leaving one on a complete cliff-hanger, so I found myself reading at all times of the night, it was so gripping. This book is a must-read – *****.
    By Emma

    The Boy Who Fell Down Exit 43 is a fabulous book. It is well written with lots of detail of the Underworld and the Other Side. I like the way it switches between characters and has their different point of views rather than just stating the facts like in some books. I love the characters and how they all have their own different personalities ranging from shy and scared to bossy and out-going. My favourite character is either Lady Fortescue or Jessie Sherratt. I like Jessie because she seems so helpless at the beginning but by the end you know that she actually has a lot of determination and character strength, she is only timid at the beginning because she is still getting used to her new surroundings. I like Lady Fortescue because she seems really friendly and kind. She seems like a kind of resistance against Bloodaxe and everyone else in Exit 43 are behind her. I think now that Bloodaxe has gone, she or Jessie will be the new leader of Exit 43. Out of 10 I would give this book 9½ because I love it and it is so well written but there is always room for improvement.
    By Lucy

    The Boy Who Fell Down Exit 43 is about an eleven year old boy named Finn Oliver; his birthday is coming and he decides to give himself a present – a joyride in his mum’s car. However Finn’s luck has gone down ever since his dad died; while driving his mum’s car someone spots that he is too young and reports him to the police, but that is where he hits rock bottom and falls down Exit 43.On the way down the Exit Finn spots someone or something going up. What could this thing / who could this person be? To find out you have to read Harriet Godwin’s adventurous book!
    Overall I think The Boy Who Fell Down Exit 43 is an attention grabbing book, but in some sections it bored me. I would recommend this book to anybody who is aged 11-14 or to anyone who likes adventurous books. I would rate this book 7/10 as it was good but not the perfect book for me.
    By Maham

  4. The title of my book is The Boy Who Fell Down Exit 43, the author of my book is Harriet Goodwin. The main characters are: Fin Oliver, who is nearly 12, and Jessie Sherratt, who makes a personal discovery. In this story Fin Oliver is mourning over his father’s death and feels he will never come to terms with this. One day when his mother is asleep Finn sneaks out and goes for a long drive in his mother’s car. He seems to forget his misery and emptiness. Fin is enjoying himself when he realises a yellow car is driving ninety miles an hour towards him. Suddenly Finn is hurtling through a tunnel that divides the living and the dead…..
    It is an interesting book packed with emotions. My favourite part is when Lady Fortescue introduces Finn to the Exit 43. I have really enjoyed the book. It is full of description and detail. I would recommend this book to people who like a book that is full of curiosity.
    By Taiba

  5. I thought this book was really exciting and fast paced especially when Finn’s car falls through Exit 43 and Jesse goes to the hospital and the doctor can’t find her heartbeat. At times I thought it was a bit confusing but overall I thought it was really good. 9/10

  6. The book was kind of boring at the start of the first chapter, but after that I really got into the book. I loved the end.

    It is really gripping and exciting. I really like it.

    It is quite confusing because it changes from being about Finn then about Jessie but after a while it’s understandable. I like it because it’s not predictable.

    I liked this book because it is different and it had a nice storyline.

    The end is fabulous!

  7. This book is a fabulous page-turner about a boy named Finn Oliver. He knows he will never get over the death of his dad but joy-riding over the moors gives him the freedom he needs. Until the accident when he and his mum’s car fell down Exit 43 into the land of the dead. Will Finn ever fulfil the prophecy and save the underworld? ??
    I loved this book because it is a great mystery, is exciting, has unexpected events and shows a different view of the underworld. I’d rate this book 9/10 and think Harriet Goodwin should write about other exits.
    By Lucy

  8. This book is a fabulous page-turner about a boy named Finn Oliver. He knows he will never get over the death of his dad but joy-riding over the moors gives him the freedom he needs. Until the accident when he and his mum’s car fell down Exit 43 into the land of the dead. Will Finn ever fulfil the prophecy and save the underworld? ??
    I loved this book because it is a great mystery, is exciting, has unexpected events and shows a different view of the underworld. I’d rate this book 9/10 and think Harriet Goodwin should write about other exits.
    By Abby

  9. The Boy Who Fell Down Exit 43
    The Boy Who Fell Down Exit 43 has its good points and its bad points for me. I enjoyed the start of the book especially. This is because of the way the two worlds are split up and the detail was very good. By the end of the story it seemed to have a lot of characters who didn’t play much of a part in the story. In my opinion it would have been better to cut down on the amount of characters and focus more on the content of the story. It is a good book but does lose the imagination by the end.
    By Emma

  10. Tomorrow is Finn’s 12th birthday and he is so bored with his life he decides have a drive in the car, but almost straight away he regrets it. When the car swerves out of control he soon finds himself down Exit 43.
    This book is a great read; it has secrets behind most of the characters and they mainly serve a purpose.
    It is believable if you believe in ghosts and the land between the living and dead (the underworld) which I do. It is very original, so even though it has ghosts in it, its very different to anything I’ve ever read. Even though it can get boring at times it has lots of moments where you are on the edge and want to read on.
    What put me off is that it swapped between the two main characters too quickly so it was irritating at first but I got used to it. It can get a bit annoying but the base of the story is great. A great read!
    By Jemma

  11. A brilliant idea, with vibrant characters.
    On reflection, the plot was mild, to say the least.
    Also, it would have been better to see more of the narrative from a different point of view more often, as more emotion was not needed, but more action WAS.

    Not bad, but more could have been made out of the basic idea I think.
    3/5 from me, like I said, not bad.

Comments are closed.