Wishful Thinking – Ali Sparkes

Wishful Thinking cover imageIt’s just a regular trip for Kevin, and he comes back with just the regular sorts of things. Some local fudge, a scented candle for his mum . . . and his own personal god. It’s Abandinus, a little-known Celtic deity, who has suddenly found a new purpose in his eternal life-sorting out Kevin’s. With a god on your side, everything’s going to get a lot easier, isn’t it? After all, a god can get stuff done. The trouble is, it’s not always the kind of stuff Kevin has in mind . . .

Watch a trailer for the book here

11 thoughts on “Wishful Thinking – Ali Sparkes

  1. This book is AMAZING! I couldn’t put it down. It had just the right amounts of humour, adventure and surprise. The storyline was strange and exciting. It did not drag on and so there was always something happening. It’s a fun book to read with a VERY dramatic and unexpected twist at the end which left me completely hanging…. I hope that there is another one in the same series.

    Ramya

    This book is creepy and spine-chilling as well as being humorous and fun.
    It sneakily brings in ancient deities rather like Percy Jackson (if you liked that you will love this)
    I love this book because it successfully relates to the fears and emotions of the chosen three. Tinted with romance but not mushy enough to scare away the more action seeking readers, this also has some family problems which help you to relate to the situation the main character is in. My favourite character is Professor Greg; his situation in the past reminds you that the gods are immortal and always have been there affecting the human world. The surprising twist that the gods need you is good and it creates mutual understanding. The description of the gods as vain and unruly is interesting.
    5 stars READ THIS BOOK.
    By Suditi

  2. I thought this book was funny because of the way the events turned out to not always be as the characters planned. It was a very interesting book and I thought it changed our usual image and portrayal of gods as the book showed a more evil and attention seeking side to gods. The book had some amazing ideas like the fact that you have to believe to make something real and it also showed how quickly things can change. Wishful Thinking includes many different personalities for the characters and this makes you get an opinion of the events from a lot of different views. I liked the ending because it was full of suspense but you did think it made sense and it was understandable. It was a good twist and the plot had many other exciting twists so you never quite know what is going to happen. The book was very easy to understand. I really liked Wishful Thinking because it was an interesting book that challenged your thinking of gods and had a very exciting plot.
    By Anusha

    Wishful Thinking was quite strange because at the beginning it was very boring and I was going to stop reading it completely. But then only because I kept on reading it, it got rapidly better and I enjoyed it. But when I heard it was about Celtic gods the first thing I thought was why on earth 11-12 year old girls would want to read about Celtic gods!!!I would probably recommend this to 11 and 12 year old boys just purely because I think they would enjoy it more . Jessica
    Star rating:**

  3. I loved the realistic side of this book along with the ancient history that we have completely forgotton about these days apart from in history lessons zzzzzzz and also I loved the
    dangerous circumstances they were in. My favourite character in the book was the professor Gregg because of the secret side he had hidden from everybody until the end of the book. Overall I loved this book and everything about it because we could all do with a god now and again to get things done 😉

  4. I loved this book and it really made me think about faith and religion. The characters are described so vividly that I could really see them. I felt as if I was right in the book with them and felt all their emotions. I could relate to the characters so well that I felt as if I was one of them the whole time. The gods worked their magic and I felt as if it was me they were using. The book was amazing and had the best ending paragraph EVER. I loved the book and because I felt so into it I knew exactly what the individual characters’ personalities were and exactly what they were feeling. The fantasy in it is really good because Ali Sparkes wrote it in a fabulous, down to earth, way. I hope she writes a series to the book because I can’t wait to read more about the characters and the adventures they get into with Abadinus and the rest of the crew.
    I would rate this book: *****
    So far I would rank this book: 1st Place
    I think this book will win the award because it has loads of adventure and all the thrills it should.
    By Alexa

    I found this book gripping and hard to put down. The topic was a good idea (a personal God- useful!) and kept me reading- even when I shouldn’t have.
    I found that the story line went a bit too fast but at other times a bit too slowly. I would like to add that when writing that does sometimes happen and when you read different people will take the story in faster or slower than others.
    In my conclusion I would like to say that this was, overall, a good book, no matter what speed the book went at. I would suggest it to anyone who is quite spiritual (in a liking a personal God way), with plenty of time to read it and a thirst for adventure.
    By Celia

    Wishful thinking is a fun and exciting book. The author cleverly adds facts with humour to produce an easy but fun read. My favourite characters are Tim and the professor; I like these because although they can be serious they can always shine a light on the bad moments. When I started reading this book, I never expected it to be as good as it was. I would recommend this book to anyone who has taste as I really enjoyed reading it and I can’t wait to read some more Ali Sparks novels!
    By Libby

  5. I really enjoyed this book! I loved the different character profiles of the chosen three, their personalities fitted together perfectly, adding humour, action and a slight hint of romance. The storyline was very interesting and I was never in a position of only reading because I had too, I particularly liked the change between an action book, and a rom-com. My favourite character has to be Gracie, I love her happy attitude and ability to lighten the mood in bad situations. Even though she is portrayed as annoying, I do also like Ancasta, and the fact that she wanted to help Kevin with his love life! I loved the twist at the end, and I think it is a perfect set up for a second and possibly third book! I was very pleased with this book and would give it 9/10, purely because I would have liked Gracie to be able to stay, but I guess as she said, you never know!

  6. Wishful Thinking is a funny but unusual story of a boy whose wishes all come true. It is interesting because it links the modern world to the past. On every page, I found a joke that I had never heard before which was cleverly hidden amongst lots of humourous description. One of my favourite lines was ‘You look like you went 3 rounds with a kangaroo,’ spluttered Dad noticing his fat, bruised nose. At the start of the book I was thinking that I would like to be in Kevin’s position so all my wishes could come true, but in the end I realised that getting what you want doesn’t always make you happy. I would give this book 5 out of 5 for its humour and the fact that I could not put it down.

  7. This book was wicked!! I literally read it in a day!! Such drama and weird events.. This was my favourite book! It seemed like it was going to be a sad ending to Kevin…but I was wrong! If you haven’t read it, you haven’t lived!

  8. This is a great book to read if you love adventure and surprise. I cannot put the book down it has been one of the best books I have ever read. It was really easy to get into and I would recommend it to anyone!

  9. When reading Wishful Thinking I thought this book wouldn’t be the book for me but as I started I couldn’t put it down. The detail was excellent it was good book with a hint of humour, a dash of action and a slight sprinkle of romance. I loved how the characters were pefect and fitted together like a jigsaw puzzle. They each brought something to the team. Overall it was a brilliant book that I would recommend to anybody.

Comments are closed.