Ministry of Pandemonium – Chris Westwood

When Ben Harvester meets the mysterious Mr October in Highgate Cemetery, nothing could have
prepared him for the strange and dramatic turn his life is about to take.
Soon Mr October is leading him towards his true calling – his work at the Ministry of Pandemonium,
helping to guide the dead to the afterlife.
But Ben quickly discovers that there are terrifying forces keen to thwart the work of the Ministry
and lead the newly-dead astray. And when Ben’s mum suddenly becomes seriously ill, he questions
whether he can continue with the important job he has been given.

27 thoughts on “Ministry of Pandemonium – Chris Westwood

  1. This story is extremely good. It’s about a boy who helps out the dead and all starts while he’s sketching in a cemetery, comes across a man in need of help and goes to his aid.
    After this he starts to see things that no one else can see, a world where spirits roam freely in search of the right place to go. However, it’s not just spirits he can see…
    The characters are so real I could almost feel the more sinister ones following me when I stopped reading. I could picture them clearly. The book was well written and everything fitted together very satisfyingly. The twist at the end was great!

  2. This is an exciting novel following the story of schoolboy Ben Harvester, ever the Good Samaritan, and man of many faces, Mr October.
    Ben has just moved house with his mum and is unpopular at his new school because he talks to people that aren’t really there. Mr October has an important job: he takes the dead forward to a place where they can rest in peace away from demons on the hunt for lost souls. When he notices that Ben can also see the dead, he recruits him to work at the Ministry of Pandemonium as a filing clerk, categorising newly departed people according to the circumstances of their death. Things start to look up for Ben but then he makes a friendship that shocks everyone.
    This is a well written, fast-paced and cleverly plotted story with all the loose ends satisfyingly tied up at the end. I really enjoyed it.

  3. The characters are so real I could almost feel the more sinister ones following me when I stopped reading. I could picture them clearly.

  4. This is a well written, fast-paced and cleverly plotted story with all the loose ends satisfyingly tied up at the end. I really enjoyed it.

  5. The Ministry of Pandemonium is a brilliant book and will get your interested from the first chapter until the last. It is packed with adventure and fantasy so don’t be put off by the illustrations, never judge a book by its cover.

    The book is set in current day England in London and features a main character called Ben who lives with his mum. During the book Ben meets a multi-faced character called Mr October. The book is about the journey that they take together. In the story Ben finds that he is able to see lost souls and he is told by Mr October that he has a duty to help them find their way to where they must go.

    The characters are well written but the book also leaves room for you to imagine what the characters are like and look like. There are some fantasy creatures that are racing (with Ben and Mr October) to grab the lost souls before the others can. These creatures add more excitement and depth to the plot than if they had just left them out.

    I would definitely recommend the book to friends as it was a fabulous read. I would say that the age for this book would be 11+ as it would be a complicated plot for anyone younger than that age. I would give this book 10 out of 10 for the plot, setting, characters and pace as I would definitely read Ministry of Pandemonium again.

  6. I would recommend this book to my friends because of its amazing sense of adventure and fun. There’s always a cliffhanger at the end of each chapter and it makes you want to read more.
    By Alex

    The Ministry of Pandemonium was one of the best books I have ever read. The plot was great and at the end of every chapter there was a cliffhanger which made me want to read on. It was a great adventure and I don’t think that there was anything wrong with it. By Kiara

  7. This book relates the experiences of Ben Harvester who just has to help people. Mr October, a man of many identities, knows that Ben has a special gift and recruits him to a top secret ministry dedicated to helping the souls of dead people find a safe place to rest. Ben soon discovers that working with Mr October could put the lives of those he cares about in terrible danger.
    I enjoyed this book a lot. The settings and atmosphere were described brilliantly so I really felt as if I was there. It isn’t the sort of book I’d normally read but I’m very glad that I did.

  8. This is a unique story that pulled me in from the first page. I’ll remember it for a long time.

  9. I think that this is a brilliant book, full of adventure and mysteries and it leaves you wanting more. I read the sequel before I read this book, and I found them both as exhilarating as each other. This book is a real page turner and I would recommend it to all my friends. By Zoe

  10. The Ministry of Pandemonium is a fantastic book that entices you to read more. It is packed with adventure, death and danger. This book also keeps you in suspense at the end of each chapter as there is a cliff-hanger. The Ministry of Pandemonium is about a boy called Ben who meets a character called Mr. October who can change his appearance. I would recommend this brilliant book to anyone with a creative mind and a sense of adventure.

  11. This is an amazing book, full of suspense, so much so that I couldn’t stop reading.
    I enjoyed every moment and I can’t wait to read the sequel.

  12. I read this book first and out of the five titles, it’s definitely my favourite. It grabbed my attention – even the cover is good – and I really wanted to read it. I can’t wait to read the sequel!

  13. Ministry of Pandemonium is an exciting and adventurous story of a boy called Ben. When he meets a mysterious man named Mr October, a mischievous face-changer, Ben’s life is changed forever. The Ministry puts Ben’s whole life in danger, including his Mum, his Dad and his friend Becky. I think it is overall a brilliant book.
    By Ella

  14. I really enjoyed this book because it was mysterious with magical things happening on every page. I really liked the writer’s creativity and thought his description of Mr October and what he does made the book very understandable. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mysterious and enchanting books.
    By Maryam

  15. I found this book really good! It was so exciting and every time I reached the end of a page I wanted to move on to the next one. It was so upbeat and made me get the shivers of excitement. I think this would be one of the best books I have ever read. I loved the characters, the plot, the whole idea and the main story itself. I really enjoyed this book, it was really good!
    By Sidra

  16. This is my favourite book out of the five so far and I’ve read three. I think it’s a bit sad but it made a good story and sets the scene for the sequel which I’m already excited about as I’ve read an extract on the internet.

  17. This is a novel about Ben who can see the spirits of the dead. One day he meets the mysterious Mr October, an elderly man who guides spirits to safety, and is recruited into the Ministry of Pandemonium to file records of people who are going to die. One night Ben is faced with a record he doesn’t want to file. This is the best book I’ve read all year and I’d recommend it.

  18. I really liked this book. I found it gripping from the start so it didn’t take me long to read. I’m definitely getting the sequel.

  19. I thought that this book was OK. The author chose a difficult subject and wrote about it well but I didn’t think it was very exciting. I thought that all the different deaths got annoying after a while – and some were unnecessary – but I did like the ending which wasn’t exactly happy but worked very well. The best characters were the demons who were described very well.

  20. Ben Harvester is dragged into an unforgettable experience when he meets the mysterious Mr October. As he makes more enemies, Ben begins to think that his ’gift’ is really a curse.
    This book was really exciting to read and I liked the fact that the Ministry was so secret. Maybe a little bit boyish, but I loved it nevertheless.

  21. Ben Harvester is a twelve year old boy who, after meeting the secretive Mr October, spends all his spare time filing the records of people who are going to die. After he talks to some spirits in class, nobody wants anything to do with him… except Becky who claims to have similar powers.
    I didn’t like this book much – the subject was too sad and dark – though I can see how it would appeal to others, especially boys. Nevertheless it was very well plotted and the ending was so good that I simply must find out what is going to happen to all the characters. I probably am going to buy the sequel!

  22. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I thought the ending, when Ben discovered the truth about his father and was able to say goodbye, was very effective. Some people may think it was overdone but I thought it was fabulous.

  23. It took a while for me to get into this book. It was well written and the plot was interesting and cleverly thought through but it wasn’t really for me.

  24. I did enjoy this story – it was really good – but, at first, its intricately laced threads kept unwinding and adding so much detail that I found it really confusing. It wasn’t an easy read but the plot held my attention most of the time. In the end, all the loose threads were tied up in a very satisfying way, which finished it off perfectly.

Comments are closed.