Run Rabbit Run – Barbara Mitchelhill

When Lizzie’s dad refuses to fight in the Second World War, the police come looking to arrest him.
Desperate to stay together, Lizzie and her brother Freddie go on the run with him, hiding from the
police in idyllic Whiteway. But when their past catches up with them, they’re forced to leave and
it becomes more and more difficult to stay together as a family. Will they be able to? And will they
ever find a place, like Whiteway, where they will be safe again?

26 thoughts on “Run Rabbit Run – Barbara Mitchelhill

  1. I really enjoyed this intriguing novel called Run Rabbit Run. This book is told by Lizzie although there are a number of different characters that play an exciting part in the story. I could not put this book down and felt as though I had to read the next chapter to see what was going to happen. The way Run Rabbit Run was written made me feel as though I was part of the book and was experiencing the story. Overall this book is certainly worth reading as the author provides an opportunity for you to escape real life and appreciate the time of the war.

    By Hannah

    Run Rabbit Run is a brilliant book. With all its unexpected turns you never know what’s going to happen next. You will probably say “It’s so boring!” just looking at it, but it is completely different. It is emotional, fun, thrilling and unexpected, so you might never want to put it down. Why not try it and see what you think, because personally I think it’s amazing!

    By Sally

    I loved this book and I couldn’t stop reading it! By Maryam

    I loved this book. I thought it was adventurous, unpredictable, heart-warming and a real page-turner. It’s a brilliant book. By Zoe

  2. This book is full of ups and downs for the characters. It is set in the time of World War II and 12 year old Lizzie’s dad refuses to fight. In order to keep the small family together, they have to go on the run and hide from the police. With brother, Freddie, and their dad; Lizzie goes to Whiteway to start their new life. But as we know nothing is that simple.
    The book is full of surprises and has an amazing plot. By the end it would have made you laugh, cry and be happy. The book was quick paced and had you on the edge of your seat so that you couldn’t put the book down. A real page-turner. The front cover doesn’t give much away and suites the book quite well and the colours match the book perfectly.
    If you want to know more about this brilliant book then you will have to read it and I would assure you that you will thoroughly enjoy it. I would say that this book is for 10 and over as it is a lovely read and will provide a new world of imagination. I would rate this book 8 out of 10. It was brilliant and I would recommend it to anyone.

  3. This book was so good I read it in 1 hour!!!!!! It really relates to the war and how it affected families

  4. This is a great book set in World War 2. Lizzie’s and Freddie’s dad refuses to fight in the war so they go on the run. They are forced to move from place to place, making friends and enemies as they go. Eventually, at the end of the book, they come back to Whiteway where they feel at home.
    I really enjoyed this book and thought it was well written.

  5. It took me a while to get into this book but then I enjoyed it. I did not know about conscientious objectors and it was interesting to find out what happened to them in the war.

  6. I think Run Rabbit Run is sad, enjoyable and heart warming. By Ella

    I think this is one of the best books I have read in months. It was full of surprises and I found it very easy to read, there were some twists, but the characters never acted out of character. It was a real page-turner and I would definitely recommend it to friends. You can relate to people in the story, especially Lizzie, who has to act very responsibly and you immediately feel quite sorry for her. By Alex

  7. Lizzie’s dad refuses to fight in the Second World War. This leaves him with no choice but to go on the run with her and her little brother. First they go to quiet, welcoming Whiteway but just as they have settled down, they get reported to the police. As winter arrives, nowhere seems to offer protection for this desperate family trying to keep together when the country is at war.
    I’ve read quite a few war-based books but I think this one tops the list. It’s very exciting and fast-paced with lots of action fitted in between the pages.
    I’d recommend it to anyone, especially people wanting an insight into life during the war. You don’t need to know anything; this book will fill you in!

  8. I didn’t actually enjoy Run Rabbit Run. I thought that though it was well written, it was quite boring, some of the characters weren’t very credible and the plot was rather predictable. Given the topic, I was hoping for more action.
    I did learn some interesting things about World War II and I know more about how hard life was for conscientious objectors.

  9. I think this book is a real heart warming story about a family which has an extremely good bond. This is a emotional roller coaster of a read. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good book.

  10. I really enjoyed this book especially the characters. They had amazing personalities. hope that you release some more books like this. If so I would buy them straight away.

  11. Run, Rabbit, Run is a brilliant and exhilarating book! It is a must-read. When Lizzie and her brother and dad go on the run, the only place to go is a small village. But will they stay there for long? I found it so exciting and I thought it was such a nice, happy family book.
    By Sidra

  12. Run Rabbit Run was a moving story with plenty of suspense to hold my interest and packed with action and full of memorable, realistic characters. No-one in the story was an exaggerated hero or heroine and characters were easy to relate to. The excellent descriptions helped a lot in forming clear pictures of the places in my head and I loved the idea of Lizzie’s and Freddie’s mum being a star – it was so heart-warmingly right that I felt close to tears every time it was mentioned.
    I particularly liked the complete lack of bias with which this book was written. This is quite a refreshing change for a wartime story. Finally, I thoroughly enjoyed reading Run Rabbit Run and appreciated the amount of research that must have gone into it.

  13. Run Rabbit Run was the best book in the North East Book Awards by far as it was well written and a great read

  14. Run Rabbit Run is a brilliant book. With all its unexpected turns you never know what’s going to happen next. You might say “the cover looks old fashioned”, but just read it and its completely different. It is emotional, fun, thrilling and unexpected, so you might never want to put it down. Why I had not tried it I don’t really know as I love war books, because personally I think they are intriguing! I loved this book and I couldn’t stop reading it! I thought it was also adventurous, unpredictable, heart-warming and a real page turner. Its a brilliant book and I hope you all think so too!

  15. I thought this book was OK but there was a mismatch between the subject (for older readers) and the writing style (for young readers) and the result disappointed me.

  16. I did like this book but not as much as some of the others. The plot is good, it’s well written, the characters are believable and I liked the writing style but this story just didn’t click for me.
    It’s written from Lizzie’s point of view – and she was only 12 – but I would still say that this book is aimed at younger readers than me.

  17. I really enjoyed this book. Most World War 2 stories are about the dads being soldiers so it was refreshing to read about a dad who wasn’t fighting. 9/10

  18. I did like this book which was well written but not as exciting as I’d hoped as I would have liked more adventure and a big climax at the end. However, I did care about the characters and I was upset when Lizzie and Freddie got split up from their dad.
    It was interesting to learn what life was like for ordinary people during the war and I’m glad that I’ve read the book.

  19. Run Rabbit, Run is a good World War II era story. Dad refuses to join the army and goes on the run and his family’s lives change when they become fugitives. This book avoids the action of mainstream WWII novels and so would make a good read for girls of 10-12 years.

  20. I think this is a great book. It’s scary in some places, happy in others and can also be very sad. I felt like I was there, experiencing life in wartime. Brilliant!

  21. I really enjoyed this book. It was easy to follow and had no boring bits. I liked the way the plot moved the family on to different houses and that life was very different in each of them. I was shocked when the dad was taken away but if he hadn’t I might have got bored. I would have preferred a more tragic ending.

  22. It’s World War II and Lizzie and Freddie are forced to flee with their conscientious objector dad when his application for war work rather than fighting gets turned down. Every time they think they have found a safe place to live, something goes wrong and they find themselves on the run again.
    Sometimes the pace slowed too much but on the whole, I enjoyed this book. I was irritated by some bad proof reading: Freddie is six on one page and five on the next!

  23. I did enjoy this book but I didn’t get as involved in the story as I did with the others in the competition so I wouldn’t rate it as highly. I don’t think this book delivered the same level of tension and excitement as the others and this was disappointing because the subject was promising. Nevertheless, I still rate this book quite highly.

  24. This was a really good book. The pace was fast and the plot imaginative. I’ll be looking out for more books by this author.

Comments are closed.