The Nowhere Emporium – Ross MacKenzie

When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel Holmes stumbles upon it quite by accident. Before long, the ‘shop from nowhere’ — and its owner, Mr Silver — draw Daniel into a breathtaking world of magic and enchantment.

The Nowhere Emporium cover

The Nowhere Emporium cover

Recruited as Mr Silver’s apprentice, Daniel learns the secrets of the Emporium’s vast labyrinth of passageways and rooms — rooms that contain wonders beyond anything Daniel has ever imagined. But when Mr Silver disappears, and a shadow from the past threatens everything, the Emporium and all its wonders begin to crumble. Can Daniel save his home, and his new friends, before the Nowhere Emporium is destroyed forever?

Other Books by the Author

Zac and the Dream Pirates

Zac and the Dream Stealers

Extract

http://www.florisbooks.co.uk/author/Ross-Mackenzie

Author Website

http://zacandthedreampirates.co.uk/author.html

http://rossmauthor.com/ (in development)

Interview with Ross MacKenzie

http://www.mrripleysenchantedbooks.com/2015/04/mr-ripleys-interview-with-ross-ross.html?view=classic

If you liked this, why not try…

The Inkheart trilogy – Cornelia Funke

The School for Good and Evil series – Soman Chainani

A Tale Dark and Grimm – Adam Gidwitz

Howl’s Moving Castle – Dianna Wynne Jones

Ophelia and the Marvellous Boy – Karen Foxlee

29 thoughts on “The Nowhere Emporium – Ross MacKenzie

  1. Nowhere Emporium
    I liked the two ideas in this book.
    • being able to create something simply by imagining it and
    • one magician trying to get his revenge on another
    I thought it was easy to follow and because it kept flicking between the past and the present it kept me thinking and kept me gripped.

  2. I liked the plot of this book because, although I’ve encountered ideas like this before, the author managed to write in an original twist. I thought some of the scenes were a bit rushed and I’d have liked them to last longer. In fact, the whole book could have been longer because the characters were great and it was a shame to lose them. Daniel only remembered that he was Scottish at the very end but Vindictus Sharpe stayed true to his name and was suitably evil.

  3. This was an imaginative and unique story which captivated me from the start with its originality. However, I did feel that the ‘wonders’ were just tools to help characters do things or find out information and didn’t really get woven into the plot. I felt some of the characters were stereotypes, particularly the bullies – and for me – this let the story down a bit.

  4. I found this book stupendously, fantastically brilliant! It’s easily the best one I’ve read so far! I loved the detail and the descriptions of the wonders. I could visualize everything perfectly as though I was actually there. I felt very satisfied by Sharpes’ ending but when Lucien Silver disappeared, I felt close to tears. This was a fabulous book that I thoroughly enjoyed!

  5. Ross MacKenzie has painted a perfect picture of the Emporium and I hope that if it visits Morpeth, I don’t miss it! I thought this story was very cleverly plotted with its parallels and connections between the main characters. I liked the way that history repeated itself when Silver rescued Daniel from an orphanage and thought this a good reason to bind them together. The Emporium is too good to lose – I wonder if there will be a sequel.

  6. I thought this story was quite different from the rest. The plot is very good and there are lots of mysteries which only get solved at the end.

  7. I thought the story was well written and I really felt for the well imagined characters. The Emporium was an intriguing idea but I found all the time travelling a little confusing. The cover of this book attracted me immediately. I enjoyed the book and I’d happily read it again.

  8. I really, really enjoyed this book. It got off to a great start and just got better and better! There was plenty of action and the description was amazing. I thought it was a very imaginative plot which really got going in the second half. I thought the protagonists, Sharpe and Silver were brilliant characters and a good contrast for Ellie and Daniel.

  9. I loved this book. The descriptions were brilliant and the action was gripping. I loved the wonders – the author made them seem very real – the idea of magic used like that makes me shudder! I felt very sorry for Ellie who had to spend her life shut indoors and wasn’t even able to talk to the customers. My only disappointment is that I’d like to have known more about the disagreement between Lucien Silver and Vindictus Sharpe.

  10. I think this is a very good book full of imagination and action. I really hope that the author will write a prequel to this story because I’d like to know more about Mr. Silver working for Sharpe.

  11. I enjoyed this book but I found it a bit confusing at first because I didn’t know who the characters were. As I read on, it all came together and made sense. I haven’t read a book written like this before. I particularly liked the part where Daniel and Vindictus Sharpe were in a race to find the Book of Wonders because it was so thrilling. Overall, I thought it was exciting to read and it had a fantastic ending.

  12. This book excited me. Reading it was like being on a rollercoaster that’s going too fast. I think I would have like the story to be a bit longer and slower. I liked piecing together the bits of the characters’ pasts and finding out how they all connected and I’d rather like a sequel.

  13. I was captivated with this book from the very beginning. The introduction had me hooked and I loved the connection between the male and female protagonists. I thought Ellie was brought in at just the right time to contrast with the way Daniel was treated. The side story of Vindictus Sharpe and Lucian Silver took me a while to get my head around but everything made sense by the end. I thought the brilliant description of all the rooms really made this story, bringing it vividly alive and helping me create the Emporium in my head.

  14. This was a great book! I loved the way the Emporium was described and I felt inspired to imagine my own rooms for it! I also enjoyed piecing together the mystery side of this story and discovering the shocking and emotional result. I’d love a sequel or maybe a World Book Day book telling us more about Silver’s experiences growing up with Vindictus Sharpe.

  15. If I had to describe this book in two words, I would say “absolutely amazing!” I can’t think of one negative thing to say and the description was brilliant!

  16. I found this book very entertaining and would recommend it to anyone wanting to read a magical story. I loved all the characters, especially the one who sewed hair into his head. It was weird!

  17. The Nowhere Emporium is purely inexpressible due to several diverse points: the wretched past of Lucien Silver is twisted and segments are mercilessly spiteful whereas the enchanting future of Daniel Holmes still waits for all the Wonders to be composed. And on the contrary, Vindictus Sharpe is the most powerful anti-hero I have ever read about.
    Grace G.

    This book was amazing and it really got my imagination going. I loved how different rooms appeared and the twist in it is so unexpected! I would definitely recommend it to a friend. This book is full of magic, mischief and mayhem but all turns out great in the end.
    Lara

    This book was an excellent read which met my expectations. The past and present settings were a brilliant idea. I’d give this book 4 out of 5. An exciting adventure story that I thoroughly enjoyed. This book introduced me to a whole new level of imagination.
    Layyah

    The Nowhere Emporium is a fantastic book: this is especially true for young readers (rather than adults) because it uses the extent of your imagination. Its plot line is very exciting and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I recommend this book to readers that enjoy fantasy and imagination. I love this book so much because of the following characteristics: it is descriptive and I can clearly picture it, because it stretches your imagination and because it is unique.
    Pia

    There’s only three words to describe this book: Best Book Ever!!!!
    Shruthi

  18. I thought this story was very detailed and the description of the shop was interesting. The front cover was eye-catching and attractive and certainly encouraged me to pick up the book. I like the way that the story kept going back to the past so we could get to know more about what influenced the characters. I thought the Book of Wonders was a really clever idea and the different Wonders were quite interesting but I didn’t think that some of them were really relevant and all that description slowed up the story quite a bit. I liked the magpies and the way they kept turning up but I would have liked more action overall. It would have been really good to have a map so that we could follow the characters through the Emporium.

  19. I was drawn by the cover of this book. It really makes you want to open it and look inside! I loved this book and the characters were an important part of this. Caleb in particular was quite complex, having the appearance of a big, hard man but being really quite vulnerable with a soft heart and a deep longing to go past the curtain.
    I felt that a lot of thought and planning had gone into every part of the plot. I liked the way we were introduced to the characters at different periods in their lives and left to work out gradually who they were. It think it must take great skill to blend the past and the present as seamlessly as Ross MacKenzie has.
    I did find it a bit difficult to believe that Ellie’s and Daniel’s friendship could develop so quickly when Ellie was absent for a great part of the book but this is still my favourite book. I’d recommend it to 10+ as younger readers might find it confusing and I’m looking forward to more from this author.

  20. This is possibly one of my favourite books of all time – and I’ve read quite a few!! I couldn’t really find fault with it except perhaps that the ending was too neatly tied up. I rather like a twist that I wasn’t expecting. I’ll definitely read this book again and I’ll be looking out for more books by Ross MacKenzie.

  21. I really enjoyed Nowhere Emporium because it was believable even though it was about magic. Some of the ideas in this book had parallels in Harry Potter, such as pumpkin mead and the healing properties of unicorn blood. In Harry Potter, Voldemort stored his soul in horcruxes and the phoenix pecked the Basilisk’s eyes while, in this story, Silver stored different parts of himself in the Book of Wonders and the magpies pecked Sharpe’s eyes. Even though these ideas were quite similar, I still loved this book.

  22. The front cover of this book made me excited to read it. It’s set in several different places in history and you have to work out when from the hints and clues. I thought this was clever but also confusing. I found this book hard to get into because it kept changing characters and scenes and it took me a while to connect them. When I did, it got so much better and I appreciated how clever it was.

  23. I love the idea of being able to create a inspirational room or dream from a book and the secret behind Mr Silver’s path

  24. Ross Mackenzie did an amazing job of making the characters seem so realistic and full of life. The idea of switching from past to present throughout the book was a fantastic idea as the past gave the book a more interesting side and it made more sense with it. The contrast between the characters’ personality really gripped me to the story as Vinidictus Sharpe was the evil and repugnant character while Mr Silver was the character who saved the day (kind of). The idea that the characters (who were part of the Nowhere Emporium) had ink instead of blood inside them made them more like a creation of Mr Silver using the book and his pen and it portrays Ross Mackenzie’s even more creative and fun mind. Overall, this book is a credit amongst authors who are Children’s writers.

  25. This book drew you in from the front cover. Granted the first few pages could have been made more easy to get into but the rest of the story was captivating and funny. The end of the story nearly made me cry, I really didn’t want to see MR Silver go and the way that he left was really sad. But it was still really nice and funny and at the end when it said that Daniel and Ellie were fighting it sort of showed that they would be good friends and good companions.

  26. I found this book very good! There was a big twist at the end and sometimes you’re shocked by the extent to which people react differently to a murder. I didn’t like some of the plot but overall it is a good read.

  27. I found this book amazing because of the twists. The plot was fantastic, I couldn’t have made it any better. I love how it was going from Lucien Silver’s childhood to Daniel Holmes’s childhood. Believe it or not even though there is loads of amazing rooms in the emporium my favourite room in the Nowhere Emporium is the shop front because it is very mysterious and it’s where it all started!! I would recommend this book to everyone. I couldn’t be more pleased with what I have read!!!

  28. I really enjoyed this book because the plot was so good. Although I did find some of it confusing, the ending was great. I wondered if Ross MacKenzie got his inspiration for the setting from the movie called Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium.

  29. I absolutely adored this book. It was fun, wacky and, in places, a little serious too. I was a little disappointed by the ending, which I thought was a bit rushed.

Leave a Reply

