Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

Lily’s life is in mortal peril. Her father is missing and now silver-eyed men stalk her through the shadows. What could they want from her? With her friends – Robert, the clockmaker’s son, and Malkin, her mechanical fox – Lily is plunged into a murky and menacing world. Too soon Lily realises that those she holds dear may be the very ones to break her heart… Murder, mayhem and mystery meet in this gripping Victorian adventure.

Other books by the author

  • Moonlocket

Extract

https://usborne.com/browse-books/catalogue/product/1/10301/cogheart/#free-chapter-modal

Author Website

http://www.peterbunzl.com/

Book trailer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=meY2wzwHb7M

Author Interview

http://www.peterbunzl.com/tag/interview/

If you liked this, try…

  • Ned’s Circus of Marvels by Justin Fisher
  • The Crooked Sixpence by Jennifer Bell
  • The Dreamsnatcher series by Abi Elphinstone
  • Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi
  • The Alfie Bloom series by Gabrielle Kent
  • The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
28 thoughts on “Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

  1. I found this a really good book filled with dramatic cliff hangers. I loved the transition between the main characters in the different chapters and a truly big twist at the end. The only thing I would improve is during the beginning and middle there could have been a few more joyful moments, but apart from that I couldn’t put the book down.
    Scarlett

    Cogheart is an exciting and moving story. I loved reading it because it surprises you and makes you want to read more. The clockwork structure of this book is amazing and walks you through this fantastic adventure. Alicia

    I really loved Cogheart, it was absolutely amazing. My favourite part was when Professor Silverfish told Lily, Robert and Malkin about what had happened between him and Lily’s dad. It was thrilling, exciting and made me want to keep reading. Overall it was a great book and I would recommend it to anyone.
    Isabel

    I think Cogheart is an amazing book. My favourite part was when Lily was at the academy when she tripped over her shoe lace and made all the other girls fall over. I didn’t expect the surprising twist at the end; I didn’t think professor Silverfish was evil! Evie

    I find this book my favourite book out of the North East Book Awards because of its exciting adventures and gripping mysteries, which together make a great combination for a book. Emilia

  2. Cogheart is a really interesting book and I liked the way it gradually introduces information to you rather then saying everything about the story at the start. Also it is a unique interpretation of the future as there are air traffic zeplins!!

  3. Cogheart is an interesting and exciting book and it drew me in straightaway. There were lots of twists and turns in the story to keep me engaged.

  4. I really liked this book because it was an adventure throughout the whole book. There was never a dull moment although I thought it took a long time to get to the main point. Amy

  5. I extremely enjoyed this book. I could not put it down! I loved the adventure and mystery. But some of the mystery was obvious so I was a bit disappointed with that aspect of the book. Hasha

  6. Good book with a well structured storyline. However, in some places it was a bit boring and I also could not visualise what was going on. I did still really enjoy the book.

  7. With Cogheart’s upbeat and exhilarating storyline; there is never a boring moment when reading this novel. The amount of description in this book really makes you feel like you are really trying to help Lily figure what happened to her missing father on ‘that’ night. Words can’t express how much I enjoyed this book; an amazing read! Olivia

    This book was really powerful and exciting. My favourite character was Robert because he seemed so eager. My favourite part was when Robert sees the wind up fox from his window and follows it. At first I found it hard to get into but once I got to at least chapter 4 it got really exciting!
    Polly

    An exciting story that I liked. I wish I had a mechanical fox now. Scarlett

  8. With Cogheart’s upbeat and exhilarating storyline; there is never a boring moment when reading this novel. The amount of description in this book really makes you feel like you are really trying to help Lily figure what happened to her missing father on ‘that’ night. Words can’t express how much I enjoyed this book; an amazing read! Olivia

    This book was really powerful and exciting. My favourite character was Robert because he seemed so eager. My favourite part was when Robert sees the wind up fox from his window and follows it. At first I found it hard to get into but once I got to at least chapter 4 it got really exciting!
    Polly

    An exciting story that I liked. I wish I had a mechanical fox now. Scarlett

  9. A beautiful story that can change in a matter of seconds, yet so different and amazing at heart. An unexpected tale put into a perfect gripping story that keeps you hooked throughout.

  10. I could not put Cogheart down! Malkin was my favorite character and the prologue really excited me.

  11. Gosforth East Middle School

    I thought Cogheart was an exciting book with originality seeping out every page. I could not put the amazing book down! My favourite part is where Professor Silverfish shoots Lily when he finds out that the Cogheart is inside her because it adds a bit of a dramatic touch. My favourite character is Lily because she is so different to the other Victorian girls, she is brave, determined and fights for her loved ones. There was never a boring part throughout the book. It was a magical adventure throughout the whole book and it had a slightly unrealistic twist which I thoroughly enjoyed. The book is covered in dramatic cliff hangers which leave you reading on and on. I liked how it gradually introduced characters and excitement instead of throwing it all at you at once. Overall, I think it was a incredible book and I would recommend it to anyone.
    Ella

  12. I thought that Cogheart was a very thrilling story with lots of surprises and it was full of action right till the end. It grabbed my attention from the start, it was the one book that I could never put down.

  13. Cogheart was truly amazing, the ending was a little bit hard to understand as it was a little bit rushed.

  14. I liked this book but I did find it very hard to get into at first. I felt that it was written well with a lot of descriptive detail and I’d recommend it to anyone who likes a murder mystery set in Victorian times.

  15. I liked Malkin because he was funny and, although he was a mech animal, he seemed to be alive. My favourite part was the fire scene when Lily, Robert and Malkin had to escape through the skylight and Malkin stuck his red snout through the skylight. It felt dangerous and funny at the same time.

  16. Cogheart was an amazing and hard to put down book. I finished it in one night because I was so absorbed. I found the characters interesting and well thought out.
    I especially liked picking up the clues to work out that the godfather wasn’t all he was supposed to be. This is the first steampunk novel I have read, I really enjoyed it and feel compelled to read more.

  17. Cogheart was my favourite book for NEBA so far. I loved the story and I never thought that Professor Silverfish would end up being the villain! I also never guessed where the cogheart would be hiding! The story was woven together beautifully and I think this book is a great contender and possible winner for NEBA.

  18. I liked the steampunk theme and the idea that the creation of a heart that would never stop beating could break a lifelong bond of friendship. I thought this was a brilliant novel and I’m looking forward to reading the next one.

  19. I really enjoyed this book because it was very exciting. The part when Professor Silverfish asks Lily for the rosewood box then opens it is very gripping. I love Lily as the main character because she is so determined to get her Father back. This book is perfect for my age group.

  20. I found the start of this book boring and I didn’t particularly like the part when Lily was at school. However, the more I read, the more I began to enjoy it! I thought the plot was clever because it gradually draws you in and the action really takes off close to the end, which I loved.

  21. I love this book. I really got to know the characters. I did think, however, that the start was slow and the action was all squashed up at the end but this didn’t really spoil my enjoyment. I really was not expecting the twist at the end – it was amazing!

  22. I really enjoyed the sense of adventure this book had and thought it was a great debut novel. Although I found it slightly predictable it seemed to be written very enthusiastically, which I liked. The plot was very good and the way Peter Bunzl managed to link everything together was brilliant and gave a good ending to the story. The steampunk setting was highly appraisable and it gave the whole story a Victorian feel. The beginning felt slightly unrealistic but that is the only negative comment I could give.

  23. I love that technology and humans are together in the same story. I think this book is amazingly written although the start of the book, when it jumps from scene to scene, was a bit confusing. Once Lily and Robert meet, everything starts flowing together and the story is more enjoyable. The scenes are all excellently described and that helped me form pictures in my mind. The ending is a rollercoaster of action

  24. I really enjoyed reading Cogheart and I would give it 9.5 out of 10. The only problem was I got slightly confused during the book. I wouldn’t usually read that style of book however, I did find it interesting. If you do like adventure books, I would definitely recommend this book.

  25. This is a great book and one of the reasons is that just when you think the bad guys are gone, they reappear out of nowhere! Another is that it makes you wonder what is in the box that Lily carries around with her after her Papa’s disappearance. I like the way it gives you flashbacks about the crash in which Lily’s Mama died because it doesn’t give all the information away at once. I would have liked more description to make it easier to imagine what everything looked like.

  26. This was my favourite book! I loved reading it and couldn’t put it down! I loved all the characters and their different personalities. I thought Lily was a great character and very headstrong which is what I loved about her. I was really surprised by the twist at the end and I think this is one of the best books I’ve read!

  27. This was my favourite book! I loved all all of the characters and their different personalities. I thought Lily was very headstrong and determined and that was what I loved about her. The plot twist at the end really took me by surprise and it was one of the best books I’ve read!

Leave a Reply

