Previous Years


The Wolf Wilder – Katherine Rundell (winner)

Cogheart – Peter Bunzl

The Goldfish Boy – Lisa Thompson

The Secret of Nightingale Wood – Lucy Strange

Shadowsmith – Ross Mackenzie


Looking at the Stars – Jo Cotterill (winner)

The Boy Who Sailed the Ocean in an Armchair – Lara Williamson

Gorilla Dawn – Gill Lewis

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow – Katherine Woodfine

Time Travelling with a Hamster – Ross Welford


The Nowhere Emporium – Ross MacKenzie (winner)

The Bubble Wrap Boy – Phil Earle

Arsenic for Tea – Robin Stevens

The Screaming Staircase – Jonathan Stroud

The Piper – Danny Weston


Frost Hollow Hall – Emma Carroll (winner)

Chasing the Dark – Sam Hepburn

The Poison Boy – Fletcher Moss

Rooftoppers – Katherine Rundell

My Friend the Enemy – Dan Smith


Soldier Dog – Sam Angus (winner)

All Fall Down – Sally Nichols

The 13th Horseman – Barry Hutchison

The Secret Hen House Theatre – Helen Peters

Constable & Toop – Gareth P. Jones


Ministry of Pandemonium – Chris Westwood (winner)

Too Much Trouble – Tom Avery

Run Rabbit Run – Barbara Mitchelhill

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece – Annabel Pitcher

Six Days – Philip Webb


Castle of Shadows – Ellen Renner (winner)

Flyaway – Lucy Christopher

Young Sherlock Holmes – Andrew Lane

Flood and Fang – Marcus Sedgwick

Wishful Thinking – Ali Sparkes


The Set-Up – Sophie McKenzie (winner)

Changeling – Steve Feasey

Ant Colony – Jenny Valentine

The Boy Who Fell Down Exit 43 – Harriet Goodwin

The 13 Treasures – Michelle Harrison


Ways to Live Forever – Sally Nicholls (winner)

Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror – Chris Priestly

Reavers Ransom – Emily Diamand

Way of the Warrior – Chris Bradford

Abela – Berlie Doherty


Skulduggery Pleasant – Derek Landy (winner)

The Black Book of Secrets – F. E. Higgins

H.I.V.E. – Mark Walden

Oranges in No-Man’s Land – Elizabeth Laird

Urgum the Axeman – Kjartan Poskitt

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne


Magyk (winner) – Angie Sage

Divided City – Theresa Breslin

I Coriander – Sally Gardner

The Cry of the Icemark – Stuart Hill

Snatched! – Graham Marks

Tins – Alex Shearer


The Supernaturalist – Eoin Colfer (winner)

Deep Trouble – Debi Gliori

Vampirates – Justin Somper

Time Bomb – Nigel Hinton

Not the End of the World – Geraldine McCaughrean