Shadowsmith by Ross Mackenzie

Are you brave?

When the mysterious Amelia Pigeon turns up at Kirby’s bedroom window in the dead of night, this is the question she asks him – immediately before they tumble into a world of ancient malevolent spirits who have torn their way into Kirby’s boring seaside village.

Kirby isn’t feeling brave at all. His mother is in a coma following a freak (or was it?) accident, and he’s hardly talking to his dad. He’s convinced a spider is watching him, and now a weird girl in a yellow raincoat – who claims to be a powerful, evil-banishing Shadowsmith – is dragging him into unknown danger. How brave is he really?


Other books by the author

  • The Nowhere Emporium

Read an extract:

http://www.discoverkelpies.co.uk/kelpies/Extracts/9781782503040.pdf

Interview with the author:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p03qthj8

If you liked this, try…

  • The Blackthorn Key by Kevin Sands
  • The Many Worlds of Albie Bright by Christopher Edge
  • Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden
  • The Darkmouth series by Shane Hegarty
  • The Other Alice by Michelle Harrison
  • The Serafina series by Robert Beatty

The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell

Feodora and her mother live in the snowbound woods of Russia, in a house full of food and fireplaces. Ten minutes away, in a ruined chapel, lives a pack of wolves. Feodora’s mother is a wolf wilder, and Feo is a wolf wilder in training. A wolf wilder is the opposite of an animal tamer: it is a person who teaches tamed animals to fend for themselves, and to fight and to run, and to be wary of humans.

When the murderous hostility of the Russian Army threatens her very existence, Feo is left with no option but to go on the run. What follows is a story of revolution and adventure, about standing up for the things you love and fighting back. And, of course, wolves.

Other books by the author

  • Rooftoppers
  • The Girl Savage
  • Cartwheeling in Thunderstorms

Extract

http://media.bloomsbury.com/rep/files/the-wolf-wilder-extract.pdf

Book trailer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7TWB5eO_vNg

Interview with the author

http://www.booktrust.org.uk/books/teenagers/interviews/294

If you liked this, try…

  • The Wolf Princess by Cathryn Constable
  • Blood Red, Snow White by Marcus Sedgwick
  • The Last Wild series by Piers Torday
  • Maybe a Fox by Kathi Appelt and Alison McGhee
  • Winter Magic by Abi Elphinstone
  • The Deptford Mice trilogy by Robin Jarvis

Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

Lily’s life is in mortal peril. Her father is missing and now silver-eyed men stalk her through the shadows. What could they want from her? With her friends – Robert, the clockmaker’s son, and Malkin, her mechanical fox – Lily is plunged into a murky and menacing world. Too soon Lily realises that those she holds dear may be the very ones to break her heart… Murder, mayhem and mystery meet in this gripping Victorian adventure.

Other books by the author

  • Moonlocket

Extract

https://usborne.com/browse-books/catalogue/product/1/10301/cogheart/#free-chapter-modal

Author Website

http://www.peterbunzl.com/

Book trailer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=meY2wzwHb7M

Author Interview

http://www.peterbunzl.com/tag/interview/

If you liked this, try…

  • Ned’s Circus of Marvels by Justin Fisher
  • The Crooked Sixpence by Jennifer Bell
  • The Dreamsnatcher series by Abi Elphinstone
  • Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi
  • The Alfie Bloom series by Gabrielle Kent
  • The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

The Secret of Nightingale Wood by Lucy Strange

1919. Henry moves to the countryside with her family, scarred by her brother’s untimely death. Her only friends are characters from her favourite books – until, one day, she wanders into the woods and meets Moth, a striking witch-like woman. Together they form a bond that could help Henry save her family and overcome her grief.

Extract

https://www.chickenhousebooks.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/Secret-of-Nightingale-Wood_Ch1.pdf

Book website

https://www.chickenhousebooks.com/books/secret-of-nightingale-wood/

Book trailer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Bile4mKg2w

A letter from the author

https://girlsheartbooks.com/2016/12/01/a-letter-to-young-readers-from-lucy-strange/

If you liked this, try…

  • Frost Hollow Hall by Emma Carroll
  • Scarlet and Ivy series by Sophie Cleverly
  • The House on Hummingbird Island by Sam Angus
  • Butterfly Summer by Anne-Marie Conway
  • Fly By Night by Frances Hardinge
  • Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson

The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson

Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business. Until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour’s toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing. Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy’s disappearance – with the help of a brilliant cast of supporting characters. Page-turning, heartbreaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry.

Other books by the author

New title coming 2018

Extract

https://lunaslittlelibrary.files.wordpress.com/2017/01/thegoldfishboy_chapter1extract.pdf

Author Website

http://www.lisathompsonauthor.com/

Author guest blog

https://blog.whsmith.co.uk/lisa-thompson-ocd-and-me/

Book Trailer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzSQRG1yDGw

If you liked this, try…

  • The Sinclair’s Mysteries series by Katherine Woodfine
  • Smart by Kim Slater
  • Counting By 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan
  • How to Look for a Lost Dog by Ann M Martin
  • The London Eye Mystery by Siobhan Dowd
  • The Ruby Redfort series by Lauren Child

Looking at the Stars – Jo Cotterill

lats_final_oct2013-2

What if the only thing you had left were the stories in your head?

Amina’s homeland has been ravaged by war, and her family is devastated . . .

The women of the family – Amina, her two sisters and their mother – have no choice but to leave their home town, along with thousands of others, and head for a refugee camp.

But there are even more challenges ahead . . .

Other books by the author

Sweet Hearts series

Electrigirl

Extract

https://jocotterill.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/looking_at_the_starscrop.pdf

Interview with the author

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PfReSbZk_Ck

Author Website

http://jocotterill.com/

If you liked this, try…

Trash by Andy Mulligan

Too Much Trouble by Tom Avery

The Weight of Water by Sarah Crossan

Oranges in No Man’s Land by Elizabeth Laird

After Tomorrow by Gillian Cross

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow – Katherine Woodfine

Clockwork-Sparrow-foil

You are cordially invited to attend the Grand Opening of Sinclair’s department store!

Enter a world of bonbons, hats, perfumes and MYSTERIES around every corner. WONDER at the daring theft of the priceless CLOCKWORK SPARROW! TREMBLE as the most DASTARDLY criminals in London enact their wicked plans! GASP as our bold heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, CRACK CODES, DEVOUR ICED BUNS and vow to bring the villains to justice… 

Other books by the author

The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth

The Crime Club: Mystery and Mayhem (anthology)

Extract

https://www.waterstones.com/blog/children-s-book-of-the-month-the-mystery-of-the-clockwork-sparrow

Author Website

http://katherinewoodfine.co.uk/

http://followtheyellow.co.uk/

Author video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jCfbUPKYUow

If you liked this, try…

Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

The Blackthorn Key by Kevin Sands

Mel Foster and the Demon Butler by Julia Golding

The Lost Twin by Sophie Cleverly

Look into My Eyes by Lauren Child